Deadline set for FS municipalities

───   TSHEHLA KOTELI 09:56 Wed, 09 Mar 2022

Deadline set for FS municipalities  | News Article

Less than a month before the new financial year commences, only three municipalities in the Free State have submitted their outstanding annual financial reports from the previous financial year.

By the time the provincial premier, Sisi Ntombela, was making her State of the Province Address (Sopa), the Head of the Free State Department of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Mokete Duma, stated that seven municipalities had still not submitted their annual financial reports, as a result, auditing reports for those municipalities are outstanding.  

Duma says the three are the Phuthaditjhaba-based Maluti-a-Phofung Local Municipality, Bothaville’s Nala Local Municipality, and the Reitz-based Nketoana Local Municipality.

“The ones that are outstanding include the Masilonyana Local Municipality and Mafube Local Municipality, amongst others. The Maluti-a-Phofung Local Municipality has finalised its submission. We will be working closely with the municipalities to make sure they comply.”  

Ntombela during her address aired her concerns about municipalities that have their annual financial statements outstanding. The provincial government has provided support to 21 municipalities to ensure compliance with the requirements of the performance management system. The Provincial Treasury has constituted a team to work with municipalities to improve their financial outcomes.

OFM News

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.