On Now
Weekdays 15:00 - 18:00
The Joyride Nico, Nikki, Kayla and JayBee
NEXT: 18:00 - 19:00 OFM Business Hour with Olebogeng
Listen Live Streams


Coetzee and De Kock named in CWC Team of the Tournament

───   MORGAN PIEK 08:33 Tue, 21 Nov 2023

Coetzee and De Kock named in CWC Team of the Tournament | News Article
Gerald Coetzee - Cricinfo

The Proteas wicketkeeper, Quinton de Kock, and the fast bowler, Gerald Coetzee, has been named in the Team of the Tournament following the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup in India.

De Kock finished the tournament as the third highest run-scorer with 594-runs, while Coetzee from Bloemfontein was among the leading wicket-takers with 20 scalps.

In addition, De Kock claimed 20 dismissals, while he became the first South African to score more than 500-runs at the World Cup.

Before the World Cup, he had never scored a century at the global showpiece, and he ended the tournament with four tons to sign off on a stellar One-Day International career.

Coetzee’s 20 wickets were the most by a South African cricketer in his debut World Cup, however, he was named as the 12th man for the Team of the Tournament.

There wasn't a singles game in which Coetzee player where he didn't have his name in the wickets column.

While Australia won the World Cup, only Glenn Maxwell and Adam Zampa made the cut.

The hosts India, who won all ten of their matches before Sunday's final, boast with six players in the team and these include the leading run-scorer, Virat Kohli, and the leading wicket-taker, Mohammed Shami. Kohli scored a staggering 765-runs at an average of 95.62, while Shami took 24 wickets.

The Indian captain, Rohit Sharma, who scored the second most runs with 597, has been named as the skipper of the team.

Daryl Mitchell of New Zealand and Dilshan Madushanka of Sri Lanka also cracked the nod.

World Cup Team of the Tournament - Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) (South Africa), Rohit Sharma (captain) (India), Virat Kohli (India), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), KL Rahul (India), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa (Australia), Mohammed Shami (India) - 12th man Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)

Morgan Piek OFM Sport

@ 2023 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.