On Now
Weekdays 00:00 - 05:00
Early Mornings Oscar
NEXT: 05:00 - 06:00 The Agri Hour with Gerben
Listen Live Streams


Sunrisers and Super Giants vie for the SA20 crown

───   08:59 Sat, 10 Feb 2024

Sunrisers and Super Giants vie for the SA20 crown | News Article
Newslands Cricket Ground. Photo: Supplied

It will be a coastal affair this evening when the Sunrisers Eastern Cape will look to defend their SA20 title against Durban Super Giants at a sold-out Newlands stadium in Cape Town.

Keshav Maharaj’s team spent a lot of time at the top of the log table, but had to make space for an inspired Sunrisers Eastern Cape in the second half of the tournament.

Tonight’s final will be a rematch of Qualifier 1 played earlier this week, which the Sunrisers comfortably won by 51 runs. The Super Giants had to play the Super Kings at the Wanderers to book their spot in the finals, which they did so in fine fashion, beating the side in yellow by 69 runs.

At a pre-math press conference, Markram said he believes having a few extra days off benefited his side. 

“It can only help those that were involved last year and ultimately the occasion is what it is on the side. We will try to put our best foot forward and see where it takes us from a result point of view,” Markram said.

For the Super Giants, Maharaj said they are battle-hardened after an extra match.

“For us, it’s all about the execution and having clarity in regards to our gameplans and hopefully it is enough to triumph over the Sunrisers tomorrow.”

Tonight’s match starts at 17:30.


Sunrisers Eastern Cape: Aiden Markram (captain), Tom Abell, Ottniel Baartman, Temba Bavuma, Liam Dawson, Sarel Erwee, Aya Gqamane, Simon Harmer, Jordan Hermann, Marco Jansen, Patrick Kruger, Dawid Malan, Adam Rossington, Caleb Seleka, Andile Simelane, Tristan Stubbs, Beyers Swanepoel, Daniel Worrall.

Durban's Super Giants: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Ashton Agar, Matthew Breetzke, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, Tony de Zorzi, Heinrich Klaasen, Wiaan Mulder, Naveen-ul-Haq Murid, Bryce Parsons, Keemo Paul, Dwaine Pretorius, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jon-Jon Smuts, Jason Smith, Prenelan Subrayen, Reece Topley.

OFM Sport/Ilse Smalberger

@ 2024 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.