On Now
Weekdays 00:00 - 05:00
Early Mornings Oscar
NEXT: 05:00 - 06:00 The Agri Hour with Gerben
Listen Live Streams


Australia Women clinch ODI series against Protea Women

───   13:11 Sat, 10 Feb 2024

Australia Women clinch ODI series against Protea Women | News Article
Australia Women's Cricket Team. Photo: Supplied

The Protea Women could not repeat a historic performance against the Australian Women’s cricket team and lost the third and final ODI match by 110 runs with the DLS method.

Australia won the toss and chose to bat. Wicketkeeper Beth Mooney shone with the bat scoring 82 not out off 91 balls. Captain Alyssa Healy also put in a solid batting performance, scoring 60 off 73 balls, before being caught by Suné Luus off the bowling of Eliz-Mari Marx.  The only other Australian woman who put a meaningful score on the board, was Tahlia McGrath, scoring 44 of 35 balls, before being bowled by Chloe Tryon. Australia's final score was 277/9 in 50 overs, putting all the pressure on South Africa to chase the total. 

The most successful bowler for South Africa, was Masabata Klaas, who took four wickets for 69 runs in 9 overs. Marizanne Kapp and Nadine de Klerk also took a wicket each.

South Africa was on the backfoot from the start thanks to the early wickets of captain Laura Wolvaardt –out for 3 after only ten deliveries – and Anneke Bosch – out for 4 after 6 balls. 

Rain stopped play after the 14th over, with South Africa stuttering on 63/4.  The Protea Women never recovered and were bowled out for 127 in the 25th over.  Most successful with the bat for South Africa was Sune Luus, who scored 34 off 38 balls, before being caught by Alana King off her own bowling. She eventually went on to take three more wickets. Kim Garth and Tahlia McGrath each took three wickets to clinch a decisive victory.  

The teams will meet again on Thursday for the first and only test match on the tour. 

OFM Sport/Ilse Smalberger

@ 2024 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.