Fouché to start at centre against Munster
12:54 Thu, 10 Oct 2019
Fouché to start at centre against Munster | News Article
Louis Fouché - Morgan Piek
The Toyota Cheetahs made two changes to their starting XV for Friday nights’ Guinness PRO14 clash game against Munster in Bloemfontein.

Luan de Bruin will start at tighthead prop in the place of Erich de Jager, while Neethling Fouché retains his spot on the bench.

In the backline, Louis Fouché moves from the bench to the midfield in the place of the injured Dries Swanepoel.

This sees Clayton Blommetjies named on the bench.

The Cheetahs club captain, Tian Meyer, told OFM Sport that it is important to convert confidence into points.

“It is a team that we haven’t beaten, so we see it as a challenge,” said the scrumhalf.

“There is confidence in the team, but it is how you convert that confidence and momentum that you have built through the last couple of months.

“We have put out challenges out there. We want to keep approving and adapting each week. We want to keep on pushing each other in the squad and really keep challenging each other.

“We cannot focus on what people or the press has to say about the competition. We’ve got to perform and put the best possible product out there.

“Our aim is to win on Friday evening and we know that it is going to be a challenge.”

Furthermore, the Springbok prop Ox Nche and the in-form loose-forward, Henco Venter, will both be playing their last games for the Cheetahs. The duo’s contracts at the franchise expire at the end of the month, and they will both be heading to the Sharks.

The interim coach, Franco Smith, will also bid farewell to the team before Hawies Fourie takes over as the head coach next week.

Friday evenings' clash at the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 18:15.

Toyota Cheetahs – 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Louis Fouché, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Henco Venter, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjezi, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements – 16 Reinach Venter, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Clayton Blommetjies.

Munster - 15 Mike Haley, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Dan Goggin, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Shane Daly, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Nick McCarthy,8 Arno Botha, 7 Tommy O’Donnell, 6 Jack O’Donoghue, 5 Billy Holland (captain), 4 Fineen Wycherley, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Jeremy Loughman.

Replacements - 16 Kevin O’Byrne, 17 James Cronin, 18 Keynan Knox, 19 Darren O’Shea, 20 Gavin Coombes, 21 Alby Mathewson, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Calvin Nash.

@MorganPiek OFM Sport

Related Articles:

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more