Mbonambi on debut for the Sharks

───   08:31 Fri, 03 Dec 2021

Mbonambi on debut for the Sharks | News Article
Bongi Mbonambi - BackpagePix

There might have been an element of youthfulness about the Sharks in the early rounds of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship, but the side named to take on the Bulls is anything but inexperienced.

Head coach Sean Everitt has welcomed back his Springboks into the Sharks fold and had no hesitation in naming an extremely competitive and experienced side for Friday night’s clash at Kings Park.

With the first four rounds of URC action now over and the autumn test window a thing of the past, the South African sides are back to full strength and Everitt has been able to recall numerous Boks to his side for this match-up.

“It’s great to have the Boks back with us,” Everitt admitted. “They’ve come back into the squad full of energy and enthusiasm and have acted like true professionals, returning to the Sharks showing great discipline and preparation from the Springboks, something they’ve passed on to the younger players.”

Back in the side are Springbok captain Siya Kolisi and Sharks inspirational leader Lukhanyo Am, along with test wingers Makazole Mapimpi and Sbu Nkosi, while hooker Bongi Mbonambi makes his debut in the black and white jersey, having been signed from the Stormers.

“While we’re up against a tough side in the Bulls, this is a Sharks side that grew over the first four rounds of the URC and we’re looking forward to taking the Bulls on in front of our fans, even if it’s a limited number,” Everitt added.

“It’s going to be great to have spectators cheering the Sharks on and I’m sure the players will deliver a performance fitting the gratitude they have for their support.”

Sharks - 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Jeandre Labuschagne, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu

Replacements - 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Reniel Hugo, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Werner Kok

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Portal