Speckies always brings energy to the team - Fourie

───   MORGAN PIEK 14:04 Fri, 13 May 2022

Speckies always brings energy to the team - Fourie | News Article
Rosko Specman - Hannes Naudé

The flyhalf, Siya Masuku, is back in the Toyota Cheetahs starting XV for Saturday's big Currie Cup game against the Sharks in Bloemfontein.

Cohen Jasper retains the number 15 jersey, while the Springbok winger, Rosko Specman, has also been named in the run-on side.

Upfront, Andisa Ntsila starts at flank with Jeandré Rudolph being rotated to the bench, while Schalk Ferreira will start at loosehead prop.

Among the replacements, Beertjie van Vuuren, comes in while Chris Smit will provide cover in numerous positions.

The last time the Cheetahs faced the Sharks they won the game in Durban 29-15.

Cheetahs coach, Hawies Fourie, told OFM Sport that Specman brings a lot energy to the team has his is hoping the Blitzboks speedster will get to play his natural game.

“Speckies always brings energy to the team. He trained well the whole and he is excited to play.

“If you get a quality player like Speckies back it is positive for the team and we look forward to seeing him play.

“He hasn't had a lot of opportunities during the games that he has played and hopefully our attack will fire during the weekend and he will get some ball and chances to take the defence on.”

Tomorrow’s game at the Toyota Stadium kicks off at 14:30.

Cheetahs - 15 Cohen Jasper, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 David Brits, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Siya Masuku, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Mihali Mosi, 7 Andisa Ntsila, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Aidon Davis, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Marnus van der Merwe, 1 Schalk Ferreira.

Replacements – 16 Cameron Dawson, 17 Chucky van der Westhuizen, 18 Beertjie van Vuuren, 19 Ockie Barnard, 20 Jeandré Barnard, 21 Rewan Kruger, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 Chris Smit.

Sharks - 15 Nevaldo Fleurs, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Murray Koster, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Mpilo Gumede, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Emile van Heerden, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Fez Mbatha, 1 Khwezi Mona.

Replacements - 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Blaine Golden, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Nick Hatton, 21 Zee Mkhabela, 22 Tito Bonilla, 23 Ethan Fisher.

Morgan Piek OFM Sport

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Portal