On Now
Weekends 06:00 - 09:00
Weekend Breakfast Gerben and Anny
NEXT: 09:00 - 12:00 The Central SA Top 30 with Nolwethu
Listen Live Streams


Griquas edge Pumas to win the Airlink Cup

───   MORGAN PIEK 07:41 Mon, 04 Dec 2023

Griquas edge Pumas to win the Airlink Cup | News Article
Griquas - Facebook

The Griquas are the inaugural champions of the Airlink Cup after beating the Pumas on Saturday in the Cup Final played at the Nelspruit Rugby Club.

The Peacock Blues once again edged the Currie Cup runners-up, but this time they beat them 31-29 on their home turf.

The team from Kimberley went through the tournament unbeaten to claim their first piece of silverware since 2019 when they beat the Pumas 28-19 in Saldana in the final of the SuperSport Rugby Challenge.

The hooker, Janco Uys, scored a brace of tries for the team from the Northern cape, while the former Blitzbok, Sako Makata, as well as Gustav du Rand and Xavier Swartbooi got in on the action.

For the Pumas, the winger Etienne Taljaard, scored a hat-trick of tries for a second game in a row, while the hooker, Llewellyn Classen also crossed the whitewash.

Meanwhile, the Griffons also claimed some silverware by beating the Leopards 50-26 in the Shield Final.

Domenic Smit and Duan Pretorius each scored a brace of tries for the Northern Free Staters.

This brings a close to the year for these four teams, however, their focus will also now shift to the SA Cup early next year as they seek to qualify for the Currie Cup.

Griquas: Tries - Sako Makata, Janco Uys 2, Gustav du Rand, Xavier Swartbooi Conv. - George Whitehead 3

Pumas: Tries - Etienne Taljaard 3, Llewellyn Classen Conv. - Clinton Swart 3 Pen. - Swart

Griffons: Tries - Thato Mavundla, Domenic Smit 2, Duan Pretorius 2, Rian Olivier, Keanu Vers, Robbie Petzer Conv. - Jaywinn Jurries 5

Leopards: Tries - Frikkie du Toit, Werner Schoeman, Chris Vermaak Conv. - Sherwin Cupido 3

Morgan Piek OFM Sport

@ 2024 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.