Broos names preliminary squad for Morocco and Zimbabwe

───   MORGAN PIEK 08:22 Tue, 17 May 2022

Broos names preliminary squad for Morocco and Zimbabwe | News Article
Hugo Broos - Gallo

The Bafana Bafana coach, Hugo Broos, has named his preliminary squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Morocco and Zimbabwe.

Broos has named a squad of 37 players for the upcoming fixtures that will be played in Morocco and South Africa.

The overseas based players that made the squad include Thibang Phete, Sphephelo Sithole, Fagrie Lakay, Lyle Foster and Percy Tau.

The final squad will be named on 26 May.

Bafana Bafana Preliminary Squad:

Goalkeepers - Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC), Bruce Bvuma, Brandon Petersen (both Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders - Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Khuliso Mudau, Grant Kekana, Lyle Lakay, Aubrey Modiba (all Mamelodi Sundowns), Bandile Shandu, Innocent Maela (both Orlando Pirates), Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Taariq Fielies, Terrence Mashego (both Cape Town City), Luke Fleurs (SuperSport United), Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows), Athenkosi Mcaba (Stellenbosch FC).

Midfielders - Spephele Sithole (Belenenses, Portugal), Goodman Mosele, Thabang Monare, Fortune Makaringe (all Orlando Pirates), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United), Lebohang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Phathutshedzo Nange (Kaizer Chiefs), Jesse Donn (SuperSport United), Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Strikers - Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Ashley du Preez (Stellenbosch FC), Keagan Dolly (Kaizer Chiefs), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Fagrie Lakay (Pyramids, Egypt), Lyle Foster (Westerlo, Belgium), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota FC, USA), Percy Tau (Al Ahly, Egypt), Pule Mmodi (Golden Arrows).

Bafana will face the Atlas Lions on 9 June at the Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium.

Morgan Piek OFM Sport

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Portal