Toyota FS Cheetahs Currie Cup Journey

12:23 (GMT+2) Mon, 30 Nov 2020
Toyota FS Cheetahs Currie Cup Journey Venue: South Africa

Support Central South Africa’s pride on their hunt for a seventh Currie Cup trophy! OFM is a proud partner, sponsor and number one supporter of the Toyota Free State Cheetahs.

The Carling Currie Cup will officially kick off on the weekend of 27/28 November, culminating in the final on Saturday, 23 January 2021. All log points from Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked will be carried over to the Carling Currie Cup.

The Toyota Cheetahs will defend the crown they won in the 2019 final against the Xerox Lions, as well as the Vodacom Blue Bulls, Tafel Lager Griquas, Phakisa Pumas, Cell C Sharks and DHL Western Province.

The opening round of matches will see the Cell C Sharks host the Phakisa Pumas, Tafel Lager Griquas take on the Xerox Lions and the Vodacom Blue Bulls travel to Cape Town to face DHL Western Province. The Toyota Cheetahs have a bye.

The action will build up to the semi-finals on Saturday, 16 January 2021, when the top four teams on the log will slog it out to progress to the final (23 January).

*Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, no matches are open to the public. Watch the games on SuperSport

Fixtures for the 2020 Carling Currie Cup (all subject to change):

Friday 27 November

  • 19h00: Cell C Sharks v Phakisa Pumas (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban)

Saturday 28 November

  • 16h30: Tafel Lager Griquas v Xerox Lions (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley)
  • 19h00: DHL Western Province v Vodacom Bulls (DHL Newlands, Cape Town)

Friday 4 December

  • 19h00: Phakisa Pumas v Tafel Lager Griquas (?Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 5 December

  • 16h30: Vodacom Bulls v Toyota Cheetahs (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)
  • 19h00: Xerox Lions v DHL Western Province (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)

Friday 11 December

  • 19h00: DHL Western Province v Phakisa Pumas (DHL Newlands, Cape Town)

Saturday 12 December

  • 16h30: Toyota Cheetahs v Xerox Lions (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein)
  • 19h00: Cell C Sharks v Vodacom Bulls (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban)

Friday 18 December

  • 19h00: Phakisa Pumas v Toyota Cheetahs (?Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 19 December

  • 16h30: Tafel Lager Griquas v Vodacom Bulls (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley)
  • 19h00: Xerox Lions v Cell C Sharks (Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg)

Saturday 26 December

  • 16h30: DHL Western Province v Tafel Lager Griquas (DHL Newlands, Cape Town)
  • 19h00: Vodacom Bulls v Xerox Lions (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)

Sunday 27 December

  • 16h30: Toyota Cheetahs v Cell C Sharks (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein)

Saturday 2 January 2021

  • 14h00: Phakisa Pumas v Xerox Lions (?Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)
  • 16h30: Cell C Sharks v Tafel Lager Griquas (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban)
  • 19h00: Toyota Cheetahs v DHL Western Province (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein)

Friday 8 January

  • 19h00: Phakisa Pumas v Vodacom Bulls (?Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit)

Saturday 9 January

  • 16h30: Tafel Lager Griquas v Toyota Cheetahs (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley)
  • 19h00: DHL Western Province v Cell C Sharks (DHL Newlands, Cape Town)

Saturday 16 January 2021: Semi-finals

Saturday 23 January 2021: Final


South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition ran from July to September in 2019, and the Toyota Free State Cheetahs were crowned champions in front of their home fans in Bloemfontein, beating the Xerox Lions from Johannesburg in the final. The other teams in the competition were 2018 champions, the Cell C Sharks (from Durban), DHL Western Province (Cape Town), the Vodacom Blue Bulls (Pretoria), Phakisa Pumas (Nelspruit) and Tafel Lager Griquas (Kimberley). The same seven teams will contest the Carling Currie Cup in 2020, with the opening round on 27/28 November and the final set for Saturday, 23 January 2021 (due to the season being disrupted with the COVID-19 pandemic).

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.

View All


WHO team arrives in Wuhan, China

A team of experts from the World Health Organisation arrived in Wuhan on Thursday to start a highly politicised probe...  Read More

Trump impeached for 'inciting' US Capitol riot

The US House of Representatives has impeached President Donald Trump for "incitement of insurrection" at last week's...  Read More

FBI warns all 50 state capitols

The FBI has received information indicating "armed protests" are being planned at all 50 state capitols and the US...  Read More

Lesotho imposes 14-day total lockdown

Lesotho Prime Minister Moeketsi Majoro on Tuesday imposed a 14-day total lockdown that comes into effect from midnight...  Read More

@ 2020 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Portal
Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more