2021 Carling Currie Cup

15:12 (GMT+2) Thu, 17 Jun 2021
2021 Carling Currie Cup Venue: Central South Africa

Support Central South Africa’s pride when they battle it out in South Africa’s oldest rugby tournament, taking place from 18 June to 11 September 2021. 

OFM is a proud partner of the Toyota Cheetahs and Tafel Lager Griquas, who participate in the Premier Division, and the Leopards, who participate in the First Division.

Plus, here is some great news - you can now stream live commentary from selected Currie Cup fixtures on OFM's digital platforms. Pieter Möller brings you all the play-by-play action when the Cheetahs take on the Pumas on 9 July, the Leopards take on Griffons on 17 July, the Cheetahs play the Sharks on 24 July, the Leopards host Border Bulldogs on 31 July and when the Cheetahs take on the Lions on 11 August and the Giquas on 18 August. 

Listen to the live stream on 18 August 2021 from 16:45, here:

OFM, the sound of your life for 35 years. Our heart beats rugby!

Find the latest fixtures here: https://www.sarugby.co.za/match-centre/.

Carling Currie Cup History

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.

Premier Division

South Africa's oldest and premier provincial competition, which was contested from October2020 to January 2021 during a season disrupted by COVID-19, ended in joy for the Vodacom Bulls as they won the title for the first time since 2009, beating the Durban-based Cell C Sharks in a dramatic and nail-biting home final in Pretoria. The other teams in the competition for 2021 are 2019 champions, the Toyota Cheetahs (from Bloemfontein), as well as DHL Western Province (CapeTown), Lions (Johannesburg), New Nation Pumas (Nelspruit) and Tafel Lager Griquas (Kimberley).

First Division

The second-tier Carling Currie Cup First Division was won in 2019 by the Jaguares XV from Argentina, who went through the season unbeaten. Due to the COVID-pandemic the tournament didn't take place in 2020, but seven teams are back in 2021 to contest the title. The champions from 2018, the SWD Eagles from George, will take on the East Rand-based Valke, Down Touch Griffons (Welkom), Boland Cavaliers (Wellington), EP Elephants (Port Elizabeth), Border Bulldogs (East London), and Leopards (Potchefstroom) over a single round, with in the final scheduled for 14 August.

View All


Australian police seize 700kg of cocaine; seeks info on syndicate

Australian Police are seeking information about the criminal syndicate responsible for a 700-kilogram cocaine importation found hidden on a cargo ship at Sydney's Port Botany.  Read More

Dozens in China infected with Langya virus found in shrews

Dozens of people in China have fallen ill with a new virus that is also found in shrews, a report has said, but there is so far no evidence of human-to-human transmission.  Read More

Trump says Florida home 'raided' by FBI

Former US president Donald Trump said Monday that his Mar-A-Lago residence in Florida was being "raided" by FBI agents in what he called an act of "prosecutorial misconduct."  Read More

Iconic pop star and ‘Grease’ actress dies at 73

Olivia Newton-John has passed away at the age of 73.  Read More

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.