Third unofficial Test remains evenly poised

───   10:02 Wed, 08 Dec 2021

Third unofficial Test remains evenly poised | News Article
Prithvi Shaw - Gallo

In almost a carbon copy of the South Africa A innings, India A ended day two of the third and final four-day clash trailing the hosts by 39 runs after a dominant half-century from Ishan Kishan (86*) at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on Tuesday.

South Africa began the day on 249 / 7 after an eventful opening day that saw Sarel Erwee (75), Tony De Zorzi (58) and Khaya Zondo (56) top-score for the home side. The hosts only managed to add 19 runs to their overnight score following an impressive morning spell from right-arm medium pacer, Deepak Chahar.

The 29-year-old wrapped up the South African innings by taking the remaining three wickets to finish the innings with figures of four for 45 as SA A ended on 268 all out.

In their first innings reply with the bat, the visitors also suffered early setbacks, losing four of their five top batters for 92 runs, including the scalp of Abhimanyu Easwaran for 28.

The rebuild was then launched by captain Hanuma Vihari (63) and wicket-keeper batter, Kishan, with both batters reaching their half-centuries in a vital 115-run partnership for the fifth wicket to help the away team beyond the 200-run mark.

The stand was eventually halted by SA A’s leading bowler on the day, Lutho Sipamla (3/63), who trapped Vihari leg-before-wicket in the 71st over.

Kishan then expertly guided India A to the end of the day’s play, despite losing Chahar (10) with the last ball before stumps, with the subcontinent side only 39 runs behind South Africa A with four wickets in hand.

The other wicket-takers for the South Africans were Marco Jansen (1/43), Migael Pretorius (1/27) and Senuran Muthusamy (1/54) as the contest hangs in the balance.

Latest Score – Day 2
India A trails South Africa A by 39 runs

South Africa A: 268 after 94.5 overs; S. Erwee 75 (180), T. de Zorzi 58 (104); D. Chahar 4/45, Navdeep Saini 3/51
India A: 229/6 after 76.5 overs; I. Kishan 86 (141), H, Vihari 63 (170), L. Sipamla 3/63, M. Pretorius 1/27

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.