PHOTO GALLERY: Presidential Inauguration 2019
07:42 Sun, 26 May 2019
PHOTO GALLERY: Presidential Inauguration 2019 | News Article
On Saturday, 25 May 2019, Cyril Ramaphosa was sworn is as the head of the sixth administration. It was a very colourful affair.

The inauguration was held at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria under the theme: ‘Together Celebrating Democracy: Renewal and Growth for a Better South Africa’.

Representatives from the continental regional economic blocks, former liberation movements, fraternal countries, the African Union, United Nations, members of the diplomatic corps and eminent persons, as well as over 30 000 members of the public, witnessed the inauguration.

Former Presidents Thabo Mbeki, Kgalema Motlanthe and FW de Klerk were seated in the VIP area on stage, and the Heads of State from the DRC, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, South Sudan, Uganda, Lesotho and Eswatini graced the ceremony which coincides with the continental Africa Day celebrations.

Before taking the oath, President Ramaphosa was honoured by a mighty military salute from the South African National Defence Force personnel which included all arms of the force who ushered the President to the sound of the National Anthem, a 21-gun salute and Air Force display.

After the oath, the stadium erupted in loud cheer and praise.

Ramaphosa was elected President by Parliament after the African National Congress (ANC) won the general election earlier this month.


Related Articles:

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our site, you agree to our use of cookies. Tell me more