Tucker earns maiden Proteas call-up

───   14:10 Mon, 23 May 2022

Tucker earns maiden Proteas call-up | News Article
Delmi Tucker - Gallo

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today announced a strong 15-player squad that will tour Ireland for a One-Day International (ODI) and T20 International (T20I) series between 03 – 17 June in the city of Dublin.

In what will be the Proteas Women’s first round of fixtures since the semi-final exit in the 2022 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand, Delmi Tucker is handed her first ever call-up, while there are also a total of five changes to the World Cup playing fifteen.

Tucker, who is a batting all-rounder for Western Province, has been rewarded for her success during the provincial season, having notched up 409 runs with the bat in white ball cricket, as well as over 15 wickets with her right-arm off-spin. The 24-year-old also impressed in her appearances for the SA Emerging side during last year’s tours against their Zimbabwe and Thailand counterparts.

Amongst the quintuple changes, wicket-keeper batter Sinalo Jafta, all-rounder Marizanne Kapp and 2021’s ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, Lizelle Lee miss out as they recuperate from respiratory illness. Experienced seamer, Masabata Klaas is also ruled out due to a right shoulder injury, while Mignon du Preez, who recently retired from ODI and Test cricket is also left out.

The incoming players include all three of the World Cup traveling reserves in spinner, Raisibe Ntozakhe, bowling all-rounder Nadine de Klerk and top-order batter, Andrie Steyn. Meanwhile Anneke Bosch, who was a late change to the New Zealand traveling party because of a fractured right thumb, also returns.

Dané van Niekerk, who returned to individual training this month, is also unavailable for selection as she continues her rehabilitation from a left ankle fracture.

During the six limited over matches in Ireland, a plethora of stars from South Africa’s blockbuster showing at the Women’s cricket global showpiece will be on display. All-rounders, Suné Luus and Chloé Tryon are set to lead an exciting squad that includes the experienced Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka and Trisha Chetty.

The newly nationally-contracted pair of Tazmin Brits and Nonkululeko Mlaba have also been included in the squad, with Lara Goodall and Tumi Sekhukhune also set to build on their positive experience at the 50-over World Cup.

South Africa head into the Ireland contests currently ranked second in the world in ODI cricket as they begin their ICC Women’s Championship 2022 – 2025 campaign to quality for the 2025 World Cup. The T20Is will present an opportunity to prepare for the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Birmingham scheduled between 29 July – 07 August and the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup set to be hosted in South Africa early next year.

Proteas Squad for Ireland Tour:

Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Suné Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Tumi Sekhukhune, Andrie Steyn, Chloe Tryon, Delmi Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt.

Proteas Tour to Ireland Itinerary:

T20 International Series: 

Friday, 03 June – 1st T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

Monday, 06 June – 2nd T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

Wednesday, 08 June – 3rd T20I – Ireland vs South Africa (Pembroke, Dublin)

All T20I matches will start at 17h30.

One-Day International Series: 

Saturday, 11 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf, Dublin)

Tuesday, 14 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf, Dublin)

Friday, 17 June – Ireland vs South Africa (Clontarf¸ Dublin)

All ODI matches will start at 11h45.

@ 2022 OFM - All rights reserved Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | We Use Cookies - OFM is a division of Central Media Group (PTY) LTD.

  Visit the official Covid-19 Portal  More Information
Visit the official Covid-19 Portal